Homemade Tzatziki!

I’m taking a break from veganism in preparation for an upcoming trip to Spain, and one of the things I was most excited to eat again during my hiatus was tzatziki. The classic garlicky yogurt dip is one of my favourite Greek foods, and today I took my first crack at making it at home. Resounding success! Here, have a shitty Photo Booth picture to illustrate!

It was pretty easy and took very little time to whip up. I modified this recipe to fit my own ingredients and effort level.

INGREDIENTS:
2 cups Greek yogurt (one 500 g PC yogurt container)
2 tbsp lemon juice
Enough garlic (I put in a lot)
1 cucumber
Salt and pepper to taste
About 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh dill

WHAT TO DO:

Peel cucumbers, then cut in half lengthwise and take a small spoon and scrape out the seeds. Chop them up as finely as you can (or to your preference depending on how chunky you like your tzatziki). Mix cucumber, garlic, lemon juice, dill, and salt and pepper into the yogurt. Eat right away and/or refrigerate (it makes a lot and apparently gets better the longer it sits). The original recipe said to blend everything in a food processor before adding it to the yogurt but I didn’t feel like cleaning an extra kitchen appliance. Whatevs.

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Dips and spreads, Sauces, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

