smash smush crush

GARLIC.  I love it.

sometimes  I have cravings – like my recent craving for garlic homefries from Mary’s Place in Halifax.  obviously I can’t hop a plane just to eat some potatoes, so I decided to attempt that wonderful garlic sauce on my own.

you will need!
a head of garlic
some vegetable oil (~1/4 cup)
a splash of lemon juice
a pinch of salt
possibly a bit of mayo
a mortar and pestle – alternatively the internet says that blenders can also work, but ours makes a strange rattling sound and we don’t have an immersion one.

peel all the cloves of garlic and such forth.  smash them up with some salt until they are lovely paste.  (horrible action TV may help with this process if you are smashing by hand like me.)

slowly add oil, a bit at a time, then also add some lemon juice.  I also threw some mayo in for fun.

put it on something.

note: this turned out tasting like an attack by the garlic monster.  which is yummy.  but next time I may try to mellow it out a bit by finding milder garlic, or roasting half of it beforehand.

second note: one of the recipes I looked at recommended not making this on a first date.  I disagree.  make it on a first date, as a test of character/compatibility.*  a shared love of garlic is very important to a relationship.

—–
*dating advice from me should in no way be construed to be a good idea. very few people like raw garlic as much as I do.

About luna

i exist. i love to feed people.
This entry was posted in Sauces, Vegan (and vegan-able), Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment